Dedicated to Defending Assaultive Crimes Countless Cases Won Based on Our Refusal to Lose

Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan

Is Aggravated Domestic Violence a Felony or Misdemeanor in Michigan?

A first offense Aggravated Domestic Violence is a Misdemeanor under Michigan law that can land you in Jail for up to 1 year and/or be subject to a fine of up to $1,000.00. Aggravated DV can also be charged as a Felony with up to 5 years in Prison depending on past criminal history (see below).

What is Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan? How is Michigan Aggravated Domestic Violence (“Aggravated Domestic Assault”) Defined?

At Prain Law, PLLC, we are a Michigan Criminal Defense firm that concentrates specifically on defending those accused of Assault and Domestic Violence. So here is the question: “What is Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan?” Aggravated Domestic Violence charges under MCL 750.81a(2) are brought when someone allegedly commits Domestic Violence that results in “serious or aggravated injury.”

CLICK HERE TO READ ABOUT BRIAN J. PRAIN'S MOST RECENT NOT GUILTY VERDICT FOR HIS CLIENT FACING AGGRAVATED DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CHARGES.

Under Michigan law, Domestic Violence (“Domestic Assault”) is an Assault or an Assault and Battery upon your “spouse or former spouse, an individual with whom he or she has or has had a dating relationship, an individual with whom he or she has had a child in common, or a resident or former resident of his or her household…

CLICK HERE for the definition of “Assault” and “Assault and Battery” in Michigan...

Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan is a Domestic Assault that is distinguishable from other Assaults because it causes a “serious or aggravated injury,” but not with a weapon like Felonious Assault, and also without “intending to commit murder or to inflict great bodily harm less than murder,” like Assault With Intent to Commit Murder or Assault With Intent to do Great Bodily Harm Less Than Murder.

In Michigan, what does “serious or aggravated injury” mean?

Under Michigan law, a “serious or aggravated injury” is one that does any of the following:

  • It requires immediate medical treatment;
  • It causes disfigurement;
  • It causes impairment of health; or
  • It causes impairment of a part of the body.

Can I get a Domestic Violence Deferral (also called “Spouse Abuse Act”) if I am charged with Aggravated Domestic Violence?

Yes, even when you are charged with a Michigan Aggravated Domestic Violence offense, you are still eligible for MCL 769.4a as long as you have not been previously convicted of Domestic Violence, Aggravated Domestic Violence, or any other “assaultive” crime.

It is important to note that as of 2013, if you have already received MCL 769.4a in a previous Domestic Violence case and therefore were not “convicted” for other purposes under the law, that still counts as a “conviction” under 769.4a and you will not be eligible again this time. If you want to avoid a conviction for Aggravated Domestic Violence, you’ll either need to get an outright dismissal or a verdict of NOT GUILTY at Trial (or convince the Prosecutor to agree to if after a loss at Trial, which is unlikely).

Finally, you should realize that in order to get 769.4a in an Aggravated Domestic Violence case, the law says that both the Prosecutor and your accuser must agree to it. Because Aggravated Domestic Violence, by its nature, involves an alleged “serious or aggravated injury,” this will make the Prosecutor (and perhaps your accuser) more reluctant to agree to 769.4a.

What happens if I’m charged with an Aggravated Domestic Violence crime in Michigan and I’ve already been convicted of Domestic Violence or some other assaultive crime in the past?

If you have previously been convicted of 1 or more assaultive crimes “involving domestic violence,” meaning the alleged victim is your “spouse or former spouse, an individual with whom he or she has or has had a dating relationship, an individual with whom he or she has had a child in common, or a resident or former resident of his or her household,” and are now charged with Aggravated Domestic Violence, then the new Aggravated Domestic Violence CAN be charged as a FELONY punishable by “imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both.”

Here is the list of prior assaultive crimes “involving domestic violence” that can elevate a new Aggravated DV (“Aggravated Domestic Assault”) to a Felony:

  • Domestic Violence, 1st Offense under MCL 750.81(2)
  • Domestic Violence by a different name under the law of another State
  • Aggravated Domestic Violence under MCL 750.81a(2)
  • Felonious Assault (“Assault With a Dangerous Weapon”’) under MCL 750.82
  • Assault With Intent to Murder under MCL 750.83
  • Assault With Intent to do Great Bodily Harm Less Than Murder under MCL 750.84
  • Assault by Strangulation or Suffocation under MCL 750.84
  • Assault With Intent to Maim under MCL 750.86

**Note that, unlike in a regular case of Non-Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan (where the law requires two or more such prior convictions to elevate it to a Felony), if you are charged with Aggravated DV, it only takes 1 prior.**

If I got a MCL 769.4a on my first Domestic Violence charge, is this considered a “conviction” for purposes of making a new Michigan Aggravated Domestic Violence charge a Felony?

YES. Even though it’s not a “conviction” in other areas of the law, paragraph 5 of MCL 769.4a specifically says it IS a “conviction” for enhancing a new Aggravated Domestic Violence (“Aggravated Domestic Assault”) charge to a Felony.

What is the Sentence for Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan? Will I go to Jail for Aggravated Domestic Violence?

If you are convicted of Michigan Aggravated Domestic Violence (“DV”) under MCL 750.81a(2) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both. As seen above, with a prior, the penalty is increased immensely.

Whether or not you will actually receive Jail time in your Aggravated DV case depends on the gravity of any injury, how your vigorously Aggravated Domestic Violence case is defended, and the efficiency of your Michigan Aggravated Domestic Violence defense lawyer.

Often, people convicted of Aggravated Domestic Violence first offense in Michigan don’t receive Jail, but it is more possible than in a case of standard Domestic Violence. In lieu of Jail or after any Jail term imposed, you may also receive a Probation sentence from 6-18 months (24 mos. is the maximum). Typical conditions of Probation for Aggravated DV include: reporting on a monthly basis, community service or District Court Work Program, and/or weekly “batterer’s awareness” program for up to a year (or other counseling), psychological evaluation.

Will the Judge make me pay my accuser’s hospital expenses if I am convicted of Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan?

If (and only if) you are convicted of Aggravated Domestic Violence in Michigan, under the Michigan Crime Victim Rights Act, the Court WILL order you to pay your accuser’s medical expenses and other resulting expenses, even including lost wages. This is called Crime Victim Restitution.

Contact Our Experienced Michigan Domestic Violence Attorney

At Prain Law, PLLC, our Michigan domestic violence lawyer has won NOT GUILTY verdicts in cases involving very serious injuries where our client was accused of inflicting a “serious or aggravated injury,” even where the injury required extensive medical procedures, surgery, hospitalization, and recovery.

If you are facing a Michigan Aggravated Domestic Violence charge, don't hesitate to call Prain Law, PLLC anytime at (248) 731-4543. If you prefer not to speak to anyone, you may use our confidential e-mail Contact Form.

Hear from Our Clients

  • “His prices were fair and he is such a good attorney.”

    Jason D.

  • “I knew right away this was my best chance to get the best possible result out of my horrible situation.”

    James P.

  • “His knowledge was enlightening as he explained our options.”

    Hillary

  • “I highly recommend Brian Prain.”

    Robert

  • “If you're looking for the best Criminal Law Attorney, Attorney Prain is the one.”

    Rachel

  • “It was very fortunate a good friend of mine recommended Brian to me when I was in serious need of a very good attorney.”

    Danny

  • “If you look for a criminal defense lawyer to get the best possible outcome regarding your specific situation, then contact Brian, I really recommend him in that regard.”

    Reza

  • “Brian is simply the most dedicated lawyer one can find.”

    Steve C.

  • “Simply put, Brian is savvy lawyer and a forthright, amazing person.”

    Laura

  • “He was very accessible and always returned my call within 24 hours unless it was an absolute emergency, then he called back almost right away.”

    Former Client

  • “His attention to detail and willingness to go against people who are "respected" by most of the general public speaks volumes.”

    Former Client

  • “This guy genuinely cares about what he does and works his fanny off to do the best job possible.”

    Robert

  • “I could listen to Brian for hours he knew my rights and exercised them to the MAX.”

    James

  • “He is reasonably priced and always on top of everything, and if he doesn't know something, he finds ALL of it out! I”

    Former Client

  • “Brian is an honest and hardworking attorney who does not only care about the money.”

    Matt

Our News

  • Being Investigated for Criminal Sexual Conduct? Here's 5 Tips to Avoid Jail
    Being Investigated for Criminal Sexual Conduct? Here's 5 Tips to Avoid Jail read more
  • Criminal Sexual Conduct - Michigan Supreme Court to Rule on Expert Testimony
    Criminal Sexual Conduct - Michigan Supreme Court to Rule on Expert Testimony read more
  • Criminal Sexual Conduct Defense - Can I Bring Up Her Past?
    Criminal Sexual Conduct Defense - Can I Bring Up Her Past? read more
  • Penalty for Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan - Avoiding Prison
    Penalty for Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan - Avoiding Prison read more
  • Criminal Sexual Conduct Third Degree - Multiple Variables Explained
    Criminal Sexual Conduct Third Degree - Multiple Variables Explained read more
  • Penalty for First Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan
    Penalty for First Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan read more
  • Penalty for Second Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan - Avoid Prison!
    Penalty for Second Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan - Avoid Prison! read more
  • Criminal Sexual Conduct Lawyer Brian J. Prain Named in DBusiness Top Lawyers, 2019
    Criminal Sexual Conduct Lawyer Brian J. Prain Named in DBusiness Top Lawyers, 2019 read more
  • Criminal Sexual Conduct Fourth Degree - Another NOT GUILTY for Brian J. Prain
    Criminal Sexual Conduct Fourth Degree - Another NOT GUILTY for Brian J. Prain read more